Good Stuff Melt

Did you know that there are more than 1727  beef hamburger recipes lurking around? Burgers are a staple in my diet. It is served at least once a week. Ideally it is one of the easiest meals that I can sassy up depending on how much condiments I have stashed in my pantry. Who knew that a trip to DC would make me googly obsessed with the recipe for a hamburger. Ever since my boyfriend and I got back from our two weeks in DC, I’ve always had my thoughts on a “Good Stuff Melt.” It was a delicious lunch at the The Good Stuff Eatery in Crystal City. The burger was so damn juicy and greasy at the same time the flavors were getting ziggy in my tongue. Bite after bite, my mouth drooled for more of the gooey stuff. Fortunately, my research online paid off. I got the name of the owner and lucky me, he published a recipe cookbook of everything they serve at their eatery. The odds of my public library actually possessing a copy of it was slim, but then again I am such a lucky son a of a gun, cause they did have one copy on their shelves. So after a couple of minutes on Google, a 20 minutes drive to the library, and a 30 minute shopping spree at my Walmart store, we managed to whip up a burger somewhat similar.

It’s not the first time I’ve cracked open a cook book, but The Good Stuff Cookbook is by far an eye candy. The pictures are deliciously concocted. Let’s just say my mouth was watery by the time I flipped a couple of pages. It contained a wide variety of recipes from Hand-cut fries, hamburgers, mac and cheese,,milkshakes and all the way to salads and sauces. By far the hardest part was trying to find the right ingredients. The cheese was a bit odd, I’ve never used Muenster cheese before. I didn’t know whether the store had any or that molasses was in the syrup section. I ended up spending a good chunk of my time around the sugar isle before I summoned a store clerk. I also couldn’t find any potato buns or wild mushrooms. So, alternatively decided to get regular hamburger buns and portabella mushrooms instead. Overall, the caramelized onions and mushrooms took longer to cook and shrunken in size that it was very little portion for all four burgers. Overall, the finished product, Viola!  A little bloody yet deliciously addictive.

 

Sources: http://www.food.com, Good Stuff Cookbook
4 thoughts on “Good Stuff Melt

  1. Whats up! I simply wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the great data you could have here on this post. I can be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

Leave a Reply

