Siopao (Steamed Buns)

Steamed Buns for dinner.

I am not a baker, and so I do try to buy the ready made ingredients like the Bot Banh Bao flour. All I had to do is add the milk and sugar then knead it for a couple of minutes….easier said than done. Last night I was glad that Erik did all the kneading while I made the filling. The filing was a lot harder to temper with. It turned out that we were out of pork and all we had stashed in the fridge was left over ground beef from last weeks hamburger melt. Beef + mom’s adobo recipe + sugar = okay. For some reason, I can never really make adobo just like mother makes it. No matter how hard I try and follow her recipe, the end result never come out the same. The Flour mix made 12 big buns. I also didn’t  know that they were going to stick onto the steam pan, so for future reference, spray the pan with oil or put the buns in wax paper. The first ones stuck onto the pan and ripped the bottom portion…I got too excited.

Ingredients: Bot Banh Bao Flour (Steamed bun- just add milk and sugar),  Stir fry – ground beef, vinegar, sugar, salt, pepper, soy sauce, oyster sauce, garlic, onions, cumin, boiled egg and bay leaf.

 

Leave a Reply

