Soft-pretzel with honey mustard

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ = Delicious! I want more…

There is nothing better than home made soft-pretzels. Don’t worry this is technically the first baked recipe that I didn’t screw up. It’s very easy to make. The recipe yields bazillions bite sized mini pieces, but you can totally freeze them up for next week’s cravings. You can re-heat them in the oven for a couple of minutes and they’ll be delicious as the day you made them.

Dough
1.5 cups of Water
2 Tbsp of melted Butter
1 Tbsp of Sugar
1.5 tsp of Salt

Mix all wet ingredients into a big sauce pan(big enough to mix the dough) heat until butter is melted (no more than 120-130 degrees).

2.25 tsp rapid rise yeast (no need to prove)
4.5 to 5 cups of Bread flour

Add yeast + Flour = mix and knead dough until very smooth and less tacky. 5-10 minutes.
Make a dough ball and place it back in the pan and cover with saran wrap, then place it in a draft free area (I preheat my oven in the lowest setting before I start baking and then turn it off with lights on, I use it to prove my dough. I peek until the dough double in size). Around 1 hour, more or less..depending on surrounding temperature/humidity.

Preheat oven 450 degrees Fahrenheit

Cut the Dough into 12 pieces / 50 bite size pieces / whatever size you like…

Baking Soda Bath
1 cup boiling water in a flat pan + 2 tbsp baking soda = mix well until soda has dissolved. Marinade dough for 2 minutes. (This gives the dough the very goood crusty/chewy texture. Place the dough on a moist towel or paper towel to remove excess water then place it into baking sheet/pan.

Brush the pretzels with one beaten egg and sprinkle some sea salt.

Bake at 450 degrees for 8-12 minutes. Take them out before they get golden brown if you want to store the left overs in the freezer.

Honey mustard dip = Honey + mustard + mayonnaise (sorry, I don’t measure much, but you can start by putting a tablespoon of each and see where that takes you…) I like it sweet and Erik likes it with a lot of mustard….

This is not my recipe… like many others I’ve copied and tweaked it to my liking.

Leave a Reply

