Bratwurst & Buns

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ = Very good!

I’m disappointed to say that I will never make bratwurst from scratch. We’re currently very happy with the brand we buy from our local meat shop. They make their own bratwurst and they’re very delicious. They are seasoned well and  boiled in beer. All that is needed is a quick searing on the cast iron pan and they’re good to go.BratwurstThe bread on the other hand, is a different story. We’ve used up the last loaf I made a week ago and I thought I’d make another batch. Then I forgot I don’t have all the ingredients…as always I improvised. I tweaked the same Japanese milk bread recipe.

Ingredients: 2 1/2 – 3 cups bread flour, 1 tbsp rapid rise yeast, 3 tbsp sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 egg yolks(I was out of eggs, but I had leftover egg yolks from a meringue recipe), 1/2 cup water, 3 tbsp buttermilk powder, 4 tbsp butter, and tangzhong(1/3 cup flour+1 cup water=cook in medium heat).

I prove the bread for 1 hour after kneading it. Then another 30 minutes in the loaf pan, or until it has doubled in size. Yaa, this is the best part! Seeing the yeast work its magic. Not good for the impatient one..
Bread
This time I filled a pan with hot water and placed it on the bottom rack. Steam is supposed to form a hard crusty layer on the bread, but it didn’t seem that crusty when I took it out. Maybe I added too much water in the pan, because there was still a little bit left after the bread was done baking. The bread did had a crust but it was a bit soft. Anyways..I’m definitely not complaining, the bread turned out good.

I wonder if the egg yolk or extra tablespoon of buttermilk had any effect whatsoever. Oh yeah, also the original recipe only called for 1/2 cup of tangzhong, but I’ve always added more than 1/2 cup…simply because I had no use for the extra tangzhong…..I don’t make bread often enough, so the leftover tangzhong would probably end up in the trash. Our bread is often stashed away in the fridge and is mostly eaten out of convenience…i.e. grilled cheese sandwiches.
Bread
Yep the bread is that springy, soft, and moist. I forgot to take pictures of the brats with the buns….we ate ’em right away. The buns were too big so Erik sliced them in half…nom..nom..nom..

Leave a Reply

