AEbleskiver

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ = Very good!

We own a “Takoyaki” pan. Yep… the fabulous pan had been sitting in the cabinet collecting cob webs for quite some time now. But today might be it’s lucky day! I’ve discovered a danish pancake called “Ebleskiver/AEbleskiver” meaning apple slices. Apparently they are pancake stuffed with apples or fruits in round shape. “DING!!!” ding!!”Ding!” At last another use for our takoyaki pan. I’m elated with joy! Now I know what those big ball takoyaki looking pans I find at the store are…yippey. When I first saw the Ebleskiver pans, I immediately thought of takoyaki, but they were darn too big for takoyaki’s.

I can’t find any history on Aebleskiver. And so, I will just list a couple of foods that they look like from around the globe……. Takoyaki-Japanese, Panipuri-India, Pate a choux-France, Mandazi-Kenya, Bunuelos-Colombia, Komaj-Persia, and Doughnut holes in America.

Ingredients: 1 cup Bisquick pancake mix, 1 egg, 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp milk (depends on how thick you like the pancake batter), and your favorite filling +++nutella++banana

1. Oil the Takoyaki pan or the Ebleskiver/AEbleskiver pan and set the stove to medium low heat (this depends on your stove, I have a ceramic curly thingamajig…and medium is way too hot as you will see later on.)

DSC_1371

2. Combine the eggs, milk, and pancake mix. I like to use the big measuring cup for easy clean up.

DSC_1368

3. Chop up the fruits into smaller bits because the takoyaki pan is small. It can only accommodate about 1 1/2 tbsp of pancake mix + filling.

DSC_1374

4. Fill the pan with 1 tbsp of batter, about half way or else you’ll end up with something like the picture below. Then add the filling.

DSC_1380

5. Make sure the filling is submerged especially if it’s liquidy and would melt when heated. Then add about 1/2 tbsp pancake mix on top, just enough batter to fill it to the rim. “DO NOT OVERFILL” like in the picture below. The pancake mix will pufffffffff like cray cray….because you know what..it’ll be sticking to the toothpick and tiny spoon that you will be using to flip it. (The picture below was my second try…don’t judge me…..)

DSC_1381

Here’s a picture of my FIRST TRY which was aaaa hoooot. I filled it to the rim..then added the stuffing….. The Nuttella came off and melted on the sides…….. but don’t dismay…..

DSC_1379

You’ll get the hang of it by the second time you try it. Seeeeeeee. Vioala! These are easier than the takoyaki!!! As a beginner at flipping.. you might want to start off with one or just two at a time. And do them at intervals so while you are flipping one, the others are not burning like crazy…..

DSC_1383

I only made four, just because I haven’t had lunch yet. They were delicious. If you are getting tired of eating “old fashioned” pancakes, give these a try. They are great for snacks as well. You can eat them warm or cold.

DSC_1386

Nomnomnom……

DSC_1388

Also, in this recipe, I made my own “Bisquick pancake mix”. I used Jan Charles copycat recipe which is delicious. One exception, I added the vegetable shortening.

To save you time, the ingredients are..
3 1/4 cup All-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup cornstarch
1 cup dry milk powder or 1/3 cup buttermilk powder(I don’t have powder milk, so I used buttermilk instead)
3/4 cup vegetable shortening/butter

Make sure you sift all the dry ingredients together a couple of times, to make sure they are all incorporated. Then use your hand to mix the vegetable shortening. The texture will change drastically, it’ll be the same consistency as the real Bisquick pancake mix you buy at the store for $4. Yeah….That stuff is not cheap…So, why not make it yourself, you pancake luvah.

This makes about five cups worth of pancake mix.

We only use this much..
5-6 (between 5-8″diameter) pieces of old fashion pancake = 1 cup pancake flour mix + 1 egg + 1/2 cup milk (+ add 1 tbsp more for desired batter thickness, I always add 2tbsp or more ’cause I like it thinner).

Mange tak!

2 thoughts on “AEbleskiver

  1. Wow, they look amazing. They remind me a bit off the Dutch poffertjes but with added filling!
    I also have a takoyaki pan….unused….Keep telling myself I should dust it off and start making some, but somehow never find myself in the right mood for it.

Leave a Reply

