Ham & Cheese Pastry

I tried making puff pasty once, and I definitely think I will probably never do it again. I made my first laminated pastry dough in October 10, 2013. Thanks to Joepastry.com. He had a great step by step tutorial and a wonderful explanation of the entire process. It is a lot harder than it looks from his photos and explanation. They came out good and a little less flaky. The cheese didn’t sit well with the pastry though. The cheese sagged and became plasticky. Overall, they were pretty much edible.

JSA_6453

I froze the left over dough and made another batch with grape jelly filling a couple of days later. The dough I made was not as puffed up as it should have, mainly because I lost track of how many times I’ve folded the dough. 🙂 I also got very annoyed because the dough had to be chilled so often otherwise it turned into a sticky mess. It was still very delicious in the end.

JSA_6455

So, that was the last time I’ve made puff pastry dough from scratch. It was interesting to know, but definitely not for a beginner. If you are the impatient type, it may not be a good idea to make it from scratch. Ready made pastry dough is definitely a great alternative.

Ingredients: Sliced Ham, Sliced Cheese, and Puff pastry dough

Puff pastry

Make sure you defrost the pastry sheets 1-2 days before you use them.

Pastry

All there is to do is cut one sheet of the puff pastry into six pieces. Use a roller to flatten the dough and make a rectangle shape. Then you slice pieces of ham and cheese. I prefer to sandwich the cheese in between two pieces of ham. Bake for 8-10 minutes at 400°F

I like to dip them in mustard, ketchup, and ranch dressing. That’s just me… I would also prefer mustard out of the three 🙂

This pastry reminds me of individually portioned Banketstaaf…only having a different filling. This is especially apparent when they pufff up quite big. Banketstaaf is a dutch sweet pastry served during the holidays. It is made by rolling the dough around an almond filling.

Danke!

Leave a Reply

